Youth Week in the City

Youth Week is a yearly recognition of young people aged 12 to 25 years. At 'Youth Week in the City' everyone is welcome to immerse themselves in the art, music and poetry of young people who can jump into events designed just for them to connect, celebrate and be active.

15 to 24 March 2024

Youth Week in the City is proudly supported by the City of Adelaide.

Explore events

24 Apr 2024 - 18 Dec 2024

LEGO Club at Hutt Street Library

Hutt Street Library

Young person spotlight

Meet Mikayla

Instrument you play: Percussion

What inspired you to join the Youth Orchestra, and how has being a part of it enriched your musical journey?

After joining the South Australian Music Camp, I discovered the world of classical percussion, and it was unlike the usual drumkit playing I had been doing for the 3 years prior. Within a week, I fell in love with instruments like the timpani and tambourine and began working towards joining the Youth Orchestra. Being a part of the Youth Orchestra has enriched my music journey by improving my proficiency as a musician and providing me many opportunities to play beautiful and challenging music.

Can you share a memorable experience or performance you've had while being a member of the Youth Orchestra?

One of my most memorable performances was the End of Year concert of 2023. The percussion ensemble performed the piece Escape Velocity by Dave Hall. It was one of the most challenging pieces I had played that year, and I was so proud seeing how far the ensemble had come after the concert.

How do you balance your commitment to the Orchestra with other aspects of your life, such as school or other activities?

To ensure a balance between my school and music life, I try to only work on schoolwork during weekdays and focus on the youth orchestra on weekends. However, I also like to blend my involvement in the orchestra with my schoolwork, giving me an enjoyable time both in school and in my personal life.