Reconciliation committee

Meet the City of Adelaide's Reconciliation Committee

The City of Adelaide's Reconciliation Committee was formed in 2002 with goals to advance reconciliation between Aboriginal and Torres Islander people and the wider City of Adelaide community.


The Right Honourable Lord Mayor Dr Jane Lomax-Smith AM is Dual-chairperson of Council’s Reconciliation Committee, along with Yvonne Agius.

Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander representatives

Yvonne Aguis is a City of Adelaide Reconciliation Committee member and Dual-chairperson since 2010.

Yvonne is a retiree having worked as a public servant over 40 years and an Aboriginal foster carer. Yvonne is a former employee at the City of Port Adelaide Enfield. Yvonne was fundamental in the development of several very successful major reconciliation projects.

A Kaurna Narrunga woman and respected Elder, Yvonne has extensive experience and represents on a range of community groups that deal with heritage, native title, Nunga courts and the Granny’s Group displaying a great commitment to reconciliation between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal.

Ivan-Tiwu Copley (OAM, JP) is a former City of Adelaide Reconciliation Committee member from 2003-2014, serving as Dual-chairperson from 2008-2010. 019 is his 16th consecutive year with the committee.

Ivan is self employed as an Aboriginal Consultant, Chairperson of the TURKINDI Network of SA Inc and is well represented on a range of community committees that deal with reconciliation, cultural learning, statistics, Australian history, missions and homes and arts.

A Kaurna Peramangk man from Adelaide Plains and Mt Lofty Ranges, Ivan has displayed great commitment to reconciliation between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities over the past 30 years. This was demonstrated in 2010, when Ivan was awarded South Australian of the Year and again in 2012, the Order of Australia Medal (OAM) for Community Service.

Deanne is a Tanganekald Aboriginal woman with family links to the Coorong, as well as Barkindji from NSW and Narungga from Point Pearce SA.

Deanne is currently employed as Consultant: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Employment and Development at the University of South Australia (UniSA). As an employee at UniSA, Deanne was one of the writers and developers of the 2014 Reconciliation Action Plan and was instrumental in the establishment a Kaurna Welcome ceremony for the new Vice Chancellor in 2013.

Due to these successes the welcome ceremony is now followed by other states. In 2013 Deanne was awarded the Vice Chancellor’s Professional Staff Excellence Award for reconciliation and working across boundaries.

For over 20 years, Deanne has displayed a great commitment to reconciliation as an ambassador with Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities on issues of reconciliation, education and repatriation.

Kaurna Yerta Aboriginal Corporation representative

Strategic agency representatives

Jeremy Johncock is a proud Wirangu and Mirning man from the Far West Coast of South Australia and has lived on Kaurna Country for the past 22 years.

He is currently the Adelaide Football Club’s Aboriginal Program Manager, where he considers himself very fortunate to combine his passions for sport and his community.

He has previously worked in several Government and Non-Government agencies in diverse capacities and volunteered his time on various committees.

Jeremy is the co-chair of Reconciliation SA.


Lynette Crocker has been a Kaurna Nation Cultural Heritage representative since 2012.

Lynette is a Kaurna Aboriginal woman and respected Elder from Adelaide. A retiree, she volunteers on a range of community committees. Lynette is a Traditional Owner and named applicant on the Local Government and Kaurna Indigenous Land Use Agreement.

She has participated in the development of Reconciliation Action Plans for the Campbelltown City Council, City of Adelaide and Marion City Council. Lynette displays a great commitment to reconciliation, working for over the past 30 years with Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities in the areas of reconciliation, employment, native title, education, health and conservation.

Ms Kveta Vlotman identifies and is a recognised Jardwadjali, Gunditjmara, Wotjobulak woman.

She is currently the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Cultural Development Manager for Uniting Communities and delivers Cultural Orientation and Cultural Resect and Understanding across her organisation. 

Kveta sits on the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Executive Governance Committee, the Reconciliation Working Group and is the support lead of Aboriginal staff forums, working closely with Executive and human resources for recruitment and retention of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander employees.

Kveta has extensive experience over 27 years working in community services, government and the education sectors and more recently in corporate services.

Kveta is an active and passionate community member who strives for positive outcomes for community.

City of Adelaide Council members


The Reconciliation Committee meetings quarterly on a Wednesday in the Colonel Light Room of the Adelaide Town Hall. Meetings start at 2:30 pm

View the Reconciliation Committee meeting dates, agendas and minutes.

Terms of Reference and Reporting Requirement

The City of Adelaide Reconciliation Committee will engage collaboratively with peak Government and non-Government reconciliation groups to advance reconciliation in the City and encourage and seek broad Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander participation in Council activities and events.

The Reconciliation Committee reports to Council on its activities on an annual basis.

You can read the City of Adelaide's Reconciliation Committee Terms of Reference

Are you interested in helping out your community on the journey of reconciliation?

Recruitment for members is usually held every four years, however an opportunity may come up sooner if a vacancy arises.

Need more information?

For more information about the City of Adelaide Reconciliation Committee, please contact us: