24 Nov, 2022

New Council sworn in today

The content of this media release is over six months old and may no longer be current.

The City of Adelaide’s new Council will be officially sworn in this morning in a ceremony held at Adelaide Town Hall.

The Honourable President Mark Livesey, Court of Appeal, Supreme Court of South Australia,

will officiate at the investiture ceremony. Electoral Commissioner Mick Sherry and City of Adelaide Chief Executive Officer Clare Mockler will also take part in the event.

Cliffy Wilson from Kuma Kaaru will open today’s event with a Kaurna Welcome to Country.

Only 5 of the 12 members are returning Councillors – Arman Abrahimzadeh, Mary Couros, Simon Hou, Phil Martin and Keiran Snape. They will be joined by the new Lord Mayor Jane Lomax-Smith, Janet Giles, Henry Davis, David Elliott, Jing Li, Carmel Noon and Mark Siebentritt.

After serving as Lord Mayor between 1997 to 2000, Jane Lomax-Smith has returned to Town Hall following a distinguished career in service to the city and to the community of South Australia.

The Lord Mayor said the new Council reflects the diversity of the community and as a group is committed to working collaboratively.

“I am confident that the new Council will embrace the opportunity we have to reset, move ahead and help the City of Adelaide reach its full potential,” said the Lord Mayor.

“We want to play our part in ensuring the city performs well not only for our electors but for the whole state.”

Today’s ceremony will be held in the Chamber at Adelaide Town Hall from 9:30 am.

For full City of Adelaide election results, visit ecsa.sa.gov.au

For more information

Matt Halliwell