08 Jul, 2013

2013 NAIDOC SA winners announced today

The recipients of the 2013 NAIDOC SA Awards were announced today at a ceremony at the Adelaide Town Hall to celebrate the start of this year’s NAIDOC week.

The awards were presented by Ms Joyleen Thomas, Chairperson of NAIDOC SA, assisted by NAIDOC ambassadors Stephanie Gollan and Frank Lampard OAM.

“The NAIDOC SA Awards are an opportunity to celebrate Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and to recognise their contributions in various fields. Congratulations to all the recipients on their well-deserved awards and for their outstanding achievements,” said Lord Mayor Stephen Yarwood.

Following the awards, over 300 guests shared morning tea with the Lord Mayor and observed the raising of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander flag from the balcony of the Town Hall.

The Aboriginal flag was first raised in Victoria Square/Tarntanyangga on 9 July in 1971 in support of land rights for Aboriginal people and as a powerful symbol of reconciliation and hope for many Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people throughout Australia.

Council’s contribution to NAIDOC this year includes a grant through the Reconciliation Grants Program to contribute to a march from Victoria Square/Tarntanyangga to the Torrens Parade Grounds on Friday 12 July at 10.30am, followed by a family fun day.

Part of the NAIDOC activities is the annual NAIDOC art exhibition held in the main foyer of Adelaide Town Hall from 1 July – 26 July in partnership with Tandanya. This year’s exhibition is unique as it is displayed over two sites, the Town Hall and Tandanya.

In past years, the exhibition has attracted over 7,000 visitors. The exhibition On What Grounds is inspired by this year’s NAIDOC theme, We value the vision: Yirrkala Bark Petitions 1963, which celebrates the 50th anniversary of the presentation of the Yirrkala Bark Petitions to the Federal Parliament.

The curator chose artists whose themes include landscape, mapping and showing connection to land and country through their art. The artists include James Taylor, Paul Clothier, Amy Pfitzner and Racquel Austin-Abdulla, with Racquel and James’ work also on show at Tandanya.

Timothy Ritchie, Artistic and Cultural Director of Tandanya said that Tandanya is proud to partner with City of Adelaide to showcase the work of emerging South Australian Aboriginal artists.

“Council has been a leader in the reconciliation movement, and this partnership allows Adelaide residents and visitors of this vibrant city to experience contemporary Aboriginal culture in two iconic locations,” he said.

“The exhibition provides an excellent spotlight on local and emerging Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists. These artworks present a diverse and rich heritage and explore the challenges between cultures and how to negotiate this,” Stephen said.

City of Adelaide supports a number of reconciliation initiatives through its Reconciliation Committee and the Reconciliation Action Plan, as well as key activities such as Survival Day, a National Sorry Day event and the Employment Pathways expo.

This year’s NAIDOC award recipients are as follows:


Female Elder of the Year

Sponsored by SANTOS

Kayleen O'Loughlin

Male Elder of the Year

Sponsored by SANTOS

Francis Lovegrove

Young Person of the Year

Sponsored by Life Without Barriers

Jessie Wilson

Person of the Year

Sponsored by Anglicare SA

Darryl Rigney

Apprentice/Trainee of the Year

Sponsored by Maxima

Nartiea Morgan

Scholar of the Year

Sponsored by UniSA

Jonathon Newchurch

Female Sportsperson of the Year

Sponsored by the Office for Recreation and Sport

Alex Wilson

Male Sportsperson of the Year

Sponsored by the Office for Recreation and Sport

Luke McKenzie

Artist of the Year

Sponsored by the Office for the Commissioner for Aboriginal Engagement

Ian Sansbury

Aborginal/Torres Strait Islander Business of the Year

Sponsored by Indigenous Business Australia

Australian Wattlebush Catering Katherine Vudulich