13 Jun, 2017

Winner of the 2017 City of Adelaide Prize Announced

The ANZAC Centenary Memorial Walk, a joint Federal Government, State Government and City of Adelaide project, has been announced as the winner of the 2017 City of Adelaide Prize.

The City of Adelaide Prize, established by Council in 1997, recognises innovation and design excellence that enhances the city’s public spaces. Eleven entries were received this year, with winners announced at the annual South Australian Architecture Awards dinner on Saturday evening (June 10).

SA Jury Chair of the Australian Institute of Architects, Adam Hannon, said the nominees were outstanding, as they are every year, and deciding on an overall winner was very challenging.

“The ANZAC Centenary Memorial Walk is a well-executed concept that creates a significant and reflective memorial to represent and honour the ANZAC tradition. It is an engaging space that captures the spirit of war and faithfully represents the service and sacrifice of all Australians affected by war,” said Adam.

“Local materials have been used to craft a simple and elegant urban experience, establishing a new link that connects the existing War Memorial to the Riverbank. A redefined edge and fence line offers views of Government House and its unique landscape setting.

“Grieve Gillett Andersen worked with tight timeframes and a complex delivery framework to create a memorable and high quality space for Adelaide. The jury was impressed by the timeless quality of the project and its ability to create a memorial precinct that is both reflective and proud.”

The jury also awarded two commendations; one to Peter Rabbit by James McIntyre, and the other to the Rundle Mall Redevelopment by Hassell.

The jury described Peter Rabbit as “an inventive and creative concept that has transformed a vacant lot into a playful indoor/outdoor courtyard and café that enhances Hindley Street”.

The Rundle Mall Redevelopment was described as redefining Adelaide’s premium retail mall as an active and re-imagined urban space that manages the needs of shoppers, retail vendors, artists, operators and property owners to provide a transformed, energetic and comfortable space in the heart of Adelaide.

The winner of the People’s Choice category was also the ANZAC Centenary Memorial Walk. Sponsored by The City of Adelaide, the People’s Choice Prize category was introduced in 2012, opening the competition up to a wider vote. The winner is the entry that receives the most votes.

City of Adelaide Lord Mayor Martin Haese said he was pleased to see such a range of innovative projects that showcase the talent in Adelaide’s architecture and design community.

“The ANZAC Centenary Memorial Walk is a great example of the City of Adelaide and our State and Federal governments working together to honour those who have served,” Martin said.

“It links our stunning National War Memorial with the Pathway of Honour above Torrens Parade Ground and embraces the grounds of Government House – reinforcing the design pillars of Remembrance, Service and Loyalty.

“I’m very pleased to see the Rundle Mall Redevelopment recognised. The project was one of the Council’s largest ever capital investments and we have seen more than half a billion dollars in private investment in the Mall since its completion.

“These winning entries show just what can be achieved when we create opportunities in city spaces for designers and entrepreneurs to experiment.”

“I congratulate everyone involved in each of the projects considered for the awards. All of the submissions were outstanding, adding to the high level of design in our city and creating welcoming spaces for residents and visitors alike.”

The eleven entries were:

• 11 Market Street Parklet (Domenico Allegretto Architect)
• Adelaide Parklands Upgrade Park 27B Tulya Wodli (Aspect Studios)
• Lounder’s Boatshed (Mulloway Studio and City of Adelaide Council)
• Tidlanga Playspace and Pocket Orchard (City of Adelaide Council)
• Anzac Centenary Memorial Walk (Grieve Gillett Andersen with Tract Consulting)
• Peter Rabbit (James McIntyre)
• ArtBox (Walter Brooke)
• Colonel Light Centre Green Wall (City of Adelaide with Junglefy and CHEB Art and Design)
• Shopfront Improvement Grant Program: Creating Great Shopfronts (City of Adelaide
• Australian Fashion Labels Global HQ (Hosking Willis Architecture)
• Rundle Mall Redevelopment (HASSELL)

This year’s jury comprised of the chair Adam Hannon (Cox Architects), Councillor and Deputy Lord Mayor Megan Hender (City of Adelaide), Ben Willsmore (Australian Institute of Landscape Architects), Julie Pieda (Koush Design) and Kym Pryde (PIA). The Prize is managed by the SA Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects.

For more information visit architecture.com.au/events/state-territory/south-australian-chapter/sa-architecture-awards/2017-award-winners or adelaidecitycouncil.com/cityofadelaideprize

Image: Anzac Centenary Memorial Walk (Grieve Gillett Andersen with Tract Consulting)

For more information

Paula Stevens