28 Nov, 2013

Recognition for Adelaide's great buildings

Sixty two of the city’s buildings have been recognised as being historically and architecturally significant in City of Adelaide’s ‘Great Buildings’ project.

As part of this year’s About Time: South Australia’s History Festival, City of Adelaide asked city residents, students, workers and visitors to submit their favourite buildings in the City, North Adelaide and the Park Lands.

The final ‘Great Buildings’ list was then chosen by a panel of design and architecture experts.

Councillor David Plumridge said the list has something for everyone.

“From landmark heritage churches to early dwellings, and contemporary university buildings to intricate glasshouses, the list showcases the diversity of our city’s architecture,” David said.

“We had an overwhelming response with 192 buildings submitted by the public and 5372 votes cast. Thank you to those who took the time to participate.”

Between June-July 2013, a panel of experts appointed by City of Adelaide reviewed and shortlisted the submitted buildings, taking into account the number of votes each received, to create the Great Buildings Final List.

Cycling and walking trails that will guide people to see, explore and discover Adelaide’s beautiful buildings will be developed in time for About Time: South Australia’s History Festival in May 2014.

Councillor Sandy Wilkinson said that Adelaide is full of little gems that people love to discover.

“The trails being developed will enable people to wander through the city at their own pace, stop, look up and take notice of the exceptional buildings that line our city’s streets.”

“I was not surprised to see that it was predominantly Adelaide’s historic buildings that the public submitted as their favourites.”

“It is an affirmation that it is Adelaide’s older buildings that are what is considered great,” Sandy said.

The final list and photo gallery is available at cityofadelaide.com.au/great-buildings.

The City of Adelaide would like to recognise and thank its supporters; Australian Institute of Architects (SA Chapter), History SA, National Trust of South Australia, Office for Design and Architecture SA, University of Adelaide and University of South Australia.