08 Dec, 2015

City Of Adelaide Prize Nominations Now Open

The 2016 City of Adelaide Prize is now open with the opportunity to submit nominations until 15 February 2016. Entries must demonstrate that the project exhibits innovation and design excellence that activates and enlivens our city.

Sponsored by the Council, the Prize is a category of the prestigious South Australian Architecture Awards, run by the SA Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects.

The Prize, to be announced at the Architects Awards next July, celebrate positive experiences and the activation of places within the City of Adelaide, and encourages the recognition of leadership in the design of public realm, demonstrates the importance of design in creating public places for people, and promotes good design to the broader community.

Eligible entries include projects of any scale and may include buildings, public art installations, landscape works and temporary contributions that actively engage the community and enhance the city’s public spaces.

Acting Lord Mayor Houssam Abiad said the Council is a proud sponsor of the Prize, which aims to highlight and promote the role of good design in the creation of successful public places.

“The Council is working with the SA Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects to celebrate exceptional urban design as well as a shared vision to help to create a vibrant city through this Prize,” he said.

“It supports our vision to continue to work together to enhance Adelaide's reputation as one of the world's great cities through intelligent urban design.”

Last year’s City of Adelaide Prize was jointly awarded to Riverbank Bridge by Aurecon, Tonkin Zulaikha Greer + Taylor Cullity Lethlean and the Adelaide Oval Redevelopment by Cox Architecture, Walter Brooke and Hames Sharley.

To be eligible to enter, the project must be located within the City of Adelaide, and have been completed in the past two years. Individual stages or components of projects as well as those undertaken by or for the Council, State Government and/or Federal Government are also eligible.

Once again this year, the community is encouraged to vote on their favourite project in the 2016 Awards.

To nominate or for more information, visit the Australian Institute of Architects website.

For more information

Rebecca Draysey