Adelaide Park Lands Authority (APLA)

The City of Adelaide has long recognised the value of the Adelaide Park Lands to the city, state and its inhabitants. Since 2005 the Park Lands have received protection when the State Government passed the Adelaide Park Lands Act 2005 (SA). 

This does four main things:

  • defines the Adelaide Park Lands
  • requires a management strategy for the Park Lands
  • establishes seven statutory principles for the management of the Park Lands
  • establishes the Adelaide Park Lands Authority – as an advisory body to the City of Adelaide and the State Government.

The role of the Adelaide Park Lands Authority (APLA)

The Adelaide Park Lands Authority (APLA) is principally an advisory body on Park Lands matters which also prepares the Adelaide Park Lands Management Strategy. It has its own charter

The City of Adelaide manages approximately 80 per cent of the Park Lands, with the remaining 20 per cent (which includes the Botanic Garden and Botanic Park) managed by the South Australian Government.

APLA Board

APLA is chaired by the Lord Mayor of Adelaide and has four members appointed by the Council and five members appointed by the State. Current membership is as follows:

  • The Lord Mayor Ms Sandy Verschoor- Presiding Member
  • Ms Kristeen Mackay, Government Architect – Deputy Presiding Member
  • Ms Stephanie Johnson, Heritage and Urban Planner
  • Mr Stephen Forbes, Botanist
  • Mr Ben Wilsmore, Manager CityDesign (City of Unley)
  • Ms Alison Bretones, Executive Officer Parks and Leisure Australia (SA/NT region)
  • Mr Craig Wilkins, Chief Executive of the Conservation Foundation of South Australia
  • Councillor Alex Hyde (City of Adelaide)
  • Ms Jessica Davies-Huynh, Director on the Kaurna Yerta Aboriginal Corporation board.

The Adelaide Park Lands Authority meets monthly on a Thursday in the Colonel Light Room of the Adelaide Town Hall. Meetings start at 5:30 pm. Refer to the Council meeting calendar for details.

Need more information?

If you have any questions regarding the Adelaide Park Lands Management Authority, please contact Martin Cook, Executive Officer:

8203 7686

Send an email