Skip to City of Adelaide content
our online payment systems including ePathway will be unavailable Monday,15 April, from 9:00pm to 11:30pm. Please try again after this time.p>
Call (08) 8203 7203

How Council Works

Local Government is one of three spheres of government in Australia, namely Local, State and Commonwealth.

Local Government councils have considerable discretion in exercising their powers and responsibilities, and in planning for the specific and diverse needs of their local communities.

Councils are well placed to understand the views and needs of the local community and to influence the sort of place the Council area will be.

Currently, Local Government in SA is made up of 68 councils covering metropolitan Adelaide and the more densely populated country areas.

» Meet your Council members

How Can I Get Involved?

Community involvement is a vital part of every Local Government.

You can have your say via our Your Say page.

Information on how you can observe or participate in Council meetings can be found on the Understanding Meetings page.

More Information

For more information, see the Local Government Association website:

» How Council Works

Back to Top

We are currently trialing a new and improved homepage.

If you would like to continue, choose ’OK’

Thank you for trying the beta homepage.
Please take our survey to share your thoughts and feedback.