Skip to City of Adelaide content
our online payment systems including ePathway will be unavailable Monday,15 April, from 9:00pm to 11:30pm. Please try again after this time.p>
Call (08) 8203 7203

Kaurna Place Naming

The City of Adelaide was among the first Councils to sign a Reconciliation Statement in 1997. The Kaurna Naming Project stems from Council's Reconciliation Vision Statement (1997):

"Council acknowledges the prior occupation of this land by the Kaurna people, and will seek opportunities to recognise Kaurna heritage through physical features of the City and by supporting community cultural activities.

And reflects Council's Strategic Management Plan 2004 - 2007:

"Work with local Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities through the City of Adelaide Reconciliation Committee to build effective Indigenous cultures in the community."

In meeting the objectives of Council's Reconciliation Vision Statement, the Project has resulted in the physical recognition of a substantial number of Kaurna heritage sites in and around Adelaide. The Project has also resulted in all 29 Parks around the City being assigned a Kaurna name and the dual naming of the River Torrens / Karrawirra Parri and Victoria Square / Tarntanyangga. The installation of signage was completed on the 30 June 2004. Text detailing the importance of specific areas of Adelaide's Park Lands was developed for each Kaurna sign in full consultation with Kaurna community culture and heritage groups. This reflects the intention of council’s Strategic Management Plan.

In 2013 City of Adelaide adopted the new Kaurna spelling system and some of the Kaurna Park Lands naming was updated. For revised Kaurna names, please refer to the Kaurna Names document. (200KB)

Reconciliation Kaurna Place Naming map

Pronunciation of Significant Sites

Mouseover to hear the pronunciation of the Kaurna park names.

Possum Park / Pirltawardli  'possum place'

3 Yam Daisy Park / Kantarilla  'kandara root place'

5 Bragg Park / Ngampa Yarta 'ngampa root ground'

7 The Olive Groves / Kuntingga 'kunti root place'

9 Bundey’s Paddock / Tidlangga 'tidla root place'

11 Mistletoe Park / Tainmuntilla 'mistletoe place'

13 Rundle Park / Kadlitpina 'Captain Jack'

15 King Rodney Park / Ityamai-itpina 'King Rodney'

17 Carriageway Park / Tuthangga 'grass place'

19 Pelzer Park / Pityarilla 'marshmallow root place'

21 Veale Park / Walyu Yarta 'walyo root ground'

22 Josie Agius Park  / Wikaparntu Wirra 'netball park'

24 Ellis Park / Tampawardli and Ellis Park Road 'plain place'

26 Stella Bowen Park / Tarntanya Wama 'Adelaide plain/oval'

28 Palmer Gardens / Pangki Pangki 'Kaurna tracker and guide'

2 Denise Norton Park / Pardipardinyilla 'swimming place'

4 Reservoir Park / Kangatilla 'kangatta berry place'

6 Lefevre Park / Nantu Wama 'horse plain'

8 The Olive Groves / Parngutilla 'barngutta root place'

10 Bulrush Park / Warnpangga 'bullrush root place'

12 Red Gum Park / Karrawirra 'river red gum forest'

14 Rymill Park / Murlawirrapurka 'King John'

16 Victoria Park / Pakapakanthi 'to trot: a term applied to horses'

18 Peppermint Park / Wita Wirra 'peppermint grove/place'

20 Blue Gum Park / Kurangga 'blue gum place'

21w Golden Wattle Park / Mirnu Wirra 'golden wattle grove'

23 G S Kingston Park / Wirrarninthi 'to become wirra'

25 Gladys Elphick Park / Narnungga 'native pine place'

27 Bonython Park / Tulya Wardli 'Police barracks'

29 Brougham Gardens / Tantutitingga 'Native lilac place'

T Victoria Square / Tarntanyangga
'Red Kangaroo Dreaming'

Hindmarsh Square / Mukata

Hu Hurtle Square / Tangkaira

L Light Square / Wauwi

We Wellington Square / Kudnartu

Wh Whitmore Square / Ivarrityi

KwP Torrens River / Karrawirra Pari
'Redgum Forest River'

KW Main Lake Botanic Garden Kainka Wirra
'Redgum Forest'

LB/KW Lightning Bridge / Karntu Waadlakatha

KwW Red Gum Forest Bridge / Kainkawirra Waadlakatha

The City of Adelaide was one of the first Councils to sign a Reconciliation Vision Statement in 1997.

As part of its Reconciliation Vision Statement :

Council acknowledges the prior occupation of this land by the Kaurna people and will seek opportunities to recognise Kaurna heritage through physical features of the City and by supporting community cultural activities. (Guiding Principle 5)

  • 1997 - Council resolved in principle that a list of Adelaide City sites and features for potential naming with Kaurna names be drawn up in consultation with appropriate authorities and community organisations. This work was undertaken and an initial list identifying Kaurna names for City Park Lands and City Squares was presented to Council.
  • March 2000 - Council endorsed the Kaurna naming of Victoria Square/Tarntanyangga the first of six City Squares in the Adelaide City Park Lands and made a formal request to the Geographical Names Advisory Committee to dual name the River Torrens and the Main Lake Botanic Garden with their Kaurna names.
  • May 2001 - Council endorsed the Kaurna naming of a further nineteen (19) Park Lands, taking the total number of Kaurna named Park Lands to 23. In March 2003, Council endorsed the Kaurna naming of all remaining Park Lands and the dual Kaurna naming of City Squares. Council has now endorsed the Kaurna naming or dual Kaurna naming of all Park Lands and Squares.
  • March 2012 - Council endorsed the dual Kaurna naming of the five remaining City Squares.
  • May 2012 - Council endorsed the dual Kaurna / non-Kaurna names for the two new pedestrian bridges across the River Torrens / Karrawirra Pari.
  • November 2013 -  Council endorsed the renaming of the central road in Victoria Square/Tarntanyangga to Reconciliation Plaza. This is in recognition of the significance of Victoria Square/Tarntanyangga as a place of meeting, to both Aboriginal people and white settlers, and to further the spirit of reconciliation.

Council works closely with linguists, Kaurna communities and Council's Reconciliation Committee in the development of text for each of the Park Lands and City Squares that has been assigned a Kaurna name.

Kaurna signage for all 29 Adelaide City Park Lands has now been installed. Kaurna signage for Victoria Square / Tarntanyangga and the River Torrens / Karrawirra Parri has also been installed.

Initial content courtesy of:

Kaurna Warra Pintyandi
Signatories: Dr Alice Wallara Rigney, Lewis O'Brien and Rob Amery

Final content approved after consultation with Kaurna Meyunna, Kaurna Elders and KACHA.

Kaurna Park Name & Translation

Back to Top

We are currently trialing a new and improved homepage.

If you would like to continue, choose ’OK’

Thank you for trying the beta homepage.
Please take our survey to share your thoughts and feedback.