21 Nov, 2018

New City Council to be Sworn In

The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of South Australia, The Honourable Chief Justice Chris Courakis QC, will officiate at the investiture ceremony.

Deputy Electoral Commissioner David Gully, Kaurna/Narungga Elder Uncle Mickey O’Brien and Council CEO Mark Goldstone will also take part in the event.

There are four returning Councillors – Sandy Verschoor (now Lord Mayor), Anne Moran, Phillip Martin and Houssam Abiad, who will be joined by eight new faces – Robert Simms, Arman Abrahimzadeh OAM, Franz Knoll, Mary Couros, Zhuopeng (Simon) Hou, Jessy Khera, Dr Helen Donovan and Alexander Hyde.

Sandy Verschoor is the third female to be elected Lord Mayor in the city’s 178-year history. She was first elected to Council at a by-election in 2015.

The Lord Mayor said the membership of the new Council reflected the extraordinary diversity of the City of Adelaide.

“It’s great to see such a wide range of people from different business, cultural and academic backgrounds who have put their name forward to represent Adelaide.

“I look forward to working with what is a largely new group of elected members to make this city a more liveable and attractive place for residents, workers, students, investors and visitors alike.”

For more information

Simon Latimer