19 Nov, 2013

Energy Efficiency Award Winners Announced

Four local organisations demonstrating excellence in office energy efficiency were recognised this morning at the CitySwitch Signatory of the Year Awards 2013 hosted by Lord Mayor Stephen Yarwood and the Honourable Ian Hunter MLC, Minister for Sustainability, Environment and Conservation at The Science Exchange.

Established as a national initiative in 2009 by the Council of Capital City Lord Mayors, the CitySwitch Green Office Program aims to encourage office tenants to improve their energy efficiency, reduce carbon pollution and cut back energy costs. In South Australia, 44 signatory organisations representing 14% of the CBD office floor area participate in CitySwitch.

Lord Mayor Stephen Yarwood said energy efficiency is becoming more and more important and it is the organisations with an eye on the future that understand the benefits of the CitySwitch program.

“Pursuing energy efficiency to reduce the cost of doing business simply makes good sense,” said Stephen.

The 2013 award winners were determined by an independent judging panel comprising Richard Angove, Executive Director, Property Council of Australia (SA), Darren Bilsborough, Director of Urban Innovation at Woods Bagot and Board member of the Green Building Council, and Richard Day, CleanTech Industry Development Officer, SA Department for Manufacturing, Innovation, Trade, Resources and Energy.

This year’s winners are: Wallman’s Lawyers - New Signatory Award; Thomson Rossi - Under 2000m2 Award; City of Adelaide - Over 2000m2 Award; and Commonwealth Bank of Australia - Over 2000m2 highly commended.

Wallmans Lawyers won the New Signatory Award for embracing the philosophy of CitySwitch, implementing changes and engaging with others beyond their core business through public events, and communicating beyond their own staff.

Richard Angove said the judges were very impressed with Thomson Rossi’s achievement in less than 12 months, a short space of time.

“They have put in place measures that should achieve significant energy and other savings into the future,” said Richard.

“Judges awarded the Over 2000 m2 Award to the City of Adelaide for its energy efficiency improvements at the Colonel Light Centre.

“The panel believes the City of Adelaide has shown real leadership by walking the walk and going above and beyond the responsibilities of CitySwitch program managers, and they are a deserving winner,” said Richard.

The Commonwealth Bank of Australia was also highly commended for its efforts in achieving energy efficiency savings.

The national CitySwitch Awards will be announced in Sydney on 5 December 2013. Businesses interested in joining the CitySwitch program should visit www.cityswitch.net.au.

For more information

Rebecca Draysey