01 Jul, 2019

Winner of the 2019 City of Adelaide Prize Announced

This year’s winner of the 2019 City of Adelaide Prize is Cox Architecture for Karen Rolton Oval at Narnungga/Park 25 which set a new benchmark in recreational and community development in the Park Lands.

The South Australian Cricket Association (SACA) facility was described by the jury as delivering significant community value with a bold, striking design and material selection that is sympathetic to its surroundings.

The City of Adelaide Prize, established by the City of Adelaide in 1997, recognises innovation and design excellence that enhances the city’s public spaces. Seven entries were received this year, with winners announced at the annual South Australian Architecture Awards dinner on Saturday evening.

City of Adelaide Councillor Arman Abrahimzadeh was a jury member for this year’s prize.

“The nominees were outstanding, as they are every year, and deciding on an overall winner was difficult,” said Councillor Abrahimzadeh.

“Cox Architecture’s design for Karen Rolton Oval sport facility is well-deserving of the award. The facility is functional with a multitude of seating and viewing points around the building while also providing a new community space for people to experience and enjoy our amazing Park Lands.

“Compared to previous facilities at Park 25, this project has a reduced footprint while increasing operational areas and community space through good design. The design and utilisation of Karen Rolton Oval raises expectations for urban design in the Park Lands.

“All the projects nominated were of an exceptional standard and add to the city experience. They demonstrate what can be achieved when we create opportunities in city spaces for designers and entrepreneurs to experiment.”

The jury also awarded a commendation to ASPECT Studios with City of Adelaide and
The Office for Design and Architecture SA for Pelzer Park/Pityarilla (Park 19) Activity Hub.

The jury described Pelzer Park/ Pityarilla (Park 19) as an “exemplary community destination in the southern Park Lands providing a unique variety of recreation and play opportunities that encourage exploration, social interaction, imagination and fun. The Hub fosters a sense of connectivity to the city with pedestrian and cycle links and access to public transport, enabling a wide range of visitors to use the Park. The Hub reflects the spirit of the Adelaide Prize, by integrating the Park’s heritage and culture to create a vibrant and inspiring multi-use destination in the Park Lands for all to enjoy”.

The winner of the People’s Choice category as voted by the South Australian public was
Grieve Gillett Andersen for St Mary’s Corner.

Sponsored by the City of Adelaide, the People’s Choice Prize category was introduced in 2012, opening the competition up to a wider vote. The winner is the entry that receives the most votes.

Lord Mayor of Adelaide Sandy Verschoor said she was pleased to see such a range of innovative projects that showcase the talent in Adelaide’s architecture and design community.

“The nominated projects all bring great design to the City of Adelaide and enhance city and Park Lands spaces to encourage community use,” said the Lord Mayor.

“Well done to all award recipients and congratulations to everyone involved in each of the projects considered for the awards. All of the submissions were outstanding – adding to the high level of design in our city and creating welcoming and unique spaces for residents and visitors alike.”

Seven entries were received for the 2019 City of Adelaide Prize:

  • Rundle Mall Plaza by Hames Sharley
  • The Art of Christmas by Renewal SA
  • Adelaide Central Market Federal Hall Façade Conservation by Flightpath Architects
  • St Mary’s Corner by Grieve Gillett Andersen
  • Adelaide Botanic High School by Cox Architecture and Design Inc
  • Pelzer Park/Pityarilla (Park 19) Activity Hub by ASPECT Studios with City of Adelaide and The Office for Design and Architecture SA
  • Karen Rolton Oval at Narnungga (Park 25) by Cox Architecture

The City of Adelaide Prize Jury for 2019 comprised of:

  • Kristy McMillan - Director at Hodgkison
  • Councillor Arman Abrahimzadeh - City of Adelaide
  • Elinor Walker - Planning Institute of Australia
  • Emma Fey - Guildhouse
  • Warwick Keates, Director at WAX Design

For more information visit wp.architecture.com.au or www.cityofadelaide.com.au/cityofadelaideprize

For more information

Matt Halliwell