04 Jul, 2016

City of Adelaide People's Choice Prize Winner Announced

Six designs were entered into the City of Adelaide Prize for 2016, with winners announced at the annual South Australian Architecture Awards dinner on Saturday evening.

The winner of the City of Adelaide Prize for 2016 is Sans-Arc Studio for Pink Moon Saloon for its inventive and brave design which reimagined a former bin laneway transformed and refined into a delightful, surprising space that activates and enhances Leigh Street.

SA Chapter Councillor from the Australian Institute of Architects, Adam Hannon said the nominees were outstanding, as they are every year, and deciding on an overall winner was very challenging.

“Pink Moon Saloon Saloon is an inventive and brave concept that oozes charm and attention to detail. Each moment is celebrated to create a joyful experience in the least likely of locations – a former bin laneway,” said Adam.

“With only a modest budget, Sans-Arc Studio has created an environmentally aware and experimental design, providing a great example of adaptive re-use in the true sense of the expression.

The winner of the People’s Choice category was Phillips/Pilkington Architects and WAX Designs for Zoos SA Nature’s Play Ground, located in the Adelaide Zoo.

Lord Mayor Martin Haese said he was pleased to see such innovative designs that showcase the talent in Adelaide’s architecture and design community.

“These winning entries show just what can be achieved when we create opportunities for designers and entrepreneurs in city spaces to experiment,” said Martin.

“I congratulate everyone involved in each of the projects considered for the awards. All of the submissions were outstanding, adding to the high level of design in our city’s streetscapes and creating welcoming spaces for residents and visitors alike.”

The six entries comprised Zoos SA Nature’s Play Ground, by Phillips/Pilkington Architects and WAX Design; The Institute Building by Studio Nine Architects; Electra House by Studio Nine Architects, TARNANTHU Art Fair Installation by Skein; and Ergo Apartments: Plaza, Laneways and Public Art by Tract Consultants and Steven Cybulka, and the winner Pink Moon Saloon by Sans-Arc Studio;

Sponsored by City of Adelaide, the People’s Choice Prize category was introduced in 2012, opening the competition up to a wider vote, for the prestigious State Architecture Awards, which recognise innovation and excellence in enhancing public spaces of the city.

This year’s jury comprised Adam Hannon (Australian Institute of Architects); Councillor Sandy Wilkinson (City of Adelaide); Ben Willsmore (Australian Institute of Landscape Architects); Julie Pieda (Planning Institute of Australia); and Kym Pryde (Guildhouse).

The City of Adelaide Prize was established by City of Adelaide in 1997 as a way to recognise and award a built project that enhances the public experience of the City of Adelaide. The Prize is managed by the SA Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects.

For more information visit voice.architecture.com.au or cityofadelaide.com.au/cityofadelaideprize

For more information

Rebecca Draysey